The So-so SOMA Bistro

The SOMA Bistro is a restaurant in Green Sun, a hotel, office space and venue place in Chino Roces Avenue, more popularly known as Pasong Tamo Extension, in Makati.

I stayed in the The Hotel at Green Sun for a night, and you may read it here.  The stay there comes with a free breakfast.  The SOMA Bistro looks really good: stylish, high ceiling, cool ambience.  So instead of heading to the fail-safe Starbucks, which is across the street, I availed of the free meal.

p1180083
The breakfast buffet
p1180081
The bar with the golden dragon art installation at the ceiling
p1180087
The selfie spot:  this is the main entrance to the bistro

I find the hotel basic, and so is the food. Unfortunately.  It was a breakfast buffet with rice and carbonara to choose from.  Some canapes and soup.  I opted for the fried rice.  It was undercooked.  Thankfully, the hotdogs, eggs, chicken nuggest, you know the basics, were cooked well.  I changed to ordinary rice as a recourse.

The coffee was also so-so.  I ended up reaching for another cup before 11 AM.  Too early for me.

They say this place is cool at night. Unfortunately, I had an event to go to that night so I was not able to chill at this place.   There were Christmas parties being held at that night that I stayed, four to be exact.  One is beside the bistro so it was not a good night to hang out.

I should come back here though, at least to the restaurant, hopefully not the hotel, soon to give SOMA Bistro another chance.  And to try what that 10 dishes to try as recommended by Rappler.

Location: Green Sun, 2285 Chino Roces Avenue Extension, Magallanes, Makati City, Mandaluyong City, Philippines

Contact:  Website and Facebook

Date Visited:  December 16, 2016

Leave a Reply

