My favorite Viking: Niu

I now refuse to eat in any other eat-all-you-can buffet any other than Niu by Vikings in SM Aura.

I promised my self that I would eat here on my birthday because of the discount, and to binge on foie gras.  That was August.  I found a perfect excuse to go back here on my sister’s birthday (October).  On both times, happiness.

The interiors beautiful, the attendants courteous.

Slide1

This shot is taken on October 31st
This shot is taken on my second visit October 31st
Rows of dining set ready welcoming the hungry ones
Rows of dining set ready welcoming the hungry ones
The booth
The booth

Interior Slide11A

And the food heavenly.

This restaurant has the most number of photos in my laptop now.  I blame their dessert bar.  They have the most number of desserts I have ever seen my entire life.

Blueberry cheesecake
Blueberry cheesecake
White chocolate almond cake
White chocolate almond cake
So many dessert choices
So many dessert choices
The parfaits
The parfaits
A refreshing avocado parfait, specially made for the Halloween season (on my October visit)
A refreshing avocado parfait, specially made for the Halloween season (on my October visit)
Macarons
Macarons
Gelato madness
Gelato madness
Special Halloween gelato (October visit)
Special Halloween gelato (October visit)
They are so hard to resist
They are so hard to resist
This is a special Halloween food presentaiton
This is a special Halloween food presentation (October visit)
I welcome Death by Chocolate ,the decadent taste, oh...
I welcome Death by Chocolate ,the decadence , oh…
The creamy, fruit Japanese roll
The creamy, fruit Japanese roll
Why not try all of them?
Why not try all of them?
Cakes!
Cakes!
A piece of pistachio cake
A piece of pistachio cake
Sweetness!
Sweetness!
Hakaw. I undressed it though to just enjoy the shrimp and found out it's got diced bottom mushrooms too
Hakaw. I undressed it though to just enjoy the shrimp and found out it’s got diced bottom mushrooms too
Cannoli is my all-time favorite Italian dessert. But this version lacks the ricotta cheese richness.
Cannoli is my all-time favorite Italian dessert. But this version lacks the ricotta cheese richness.
My new-found love: Pavlova, meringue with cream and fresh fruits
My new-found love: Pavlova, meringue with cream and fresh fruits

With no shame, I binged on desserts on both my visits this year.

Knock-out combo
Knock-out combo:  (clockwise) chocolate parfait, almond cake and chocolate truffle
Going for some fruit combo: (clockwise) avocado and lemon gelatos, pavlova and avocado parfait
Going for some fruit combo: (clockwise) avocado and lemon gelatos, pavlova and avocado parfait

One other reason that I went back here is the unlimited foie gras. I first heard of it from the Hannibal TV series (the Hannibal Lecter character there cooks a lot of awesome meals that include this; the ingredients, I will not discuss further).  The foie gras is as controversial as it is intriguing.  After digging into fruits, my first stop, this is the next thing that I hunted down.

The presentation of the foie gras is not much but the taste is RICH!
The presentation of the foie gras is not much but the taste is RICH!
Care for some beer?
Care for some beer?

Unlike the last time I was here, I made a conscious effort to pay attention to western food.

Western paella
Paella
Lamb chops
Lamb chops
In August
Japanese station in August
Japanese station in October
Japanese station in October

We cannot forget about our roots:

Lechon!
Lechon!

I still reverted to my favorites like:

Baked oysters
Baked oysters

Slide19

Cheeses!
And more dimsum
Cheeses!
Cheeses!
I will come back for more!
I will come back for more!

This is my favorite eat-all-you-can buffet because:

  1. Reservation is soooo easy
  2. Food is reliably awesome EVERY VISIT
  3. The heavenly array of desserts
  4. The awesome attendants
  5. The luxurious restroom where I wanted to stay and make myself over and over

Date Visited:  August 7, 2015 and October 31, 2015

Contact:  0917.586.6888 and Facebook

Address:  SM Aura, 26th corner McKinley Parkway, Taguig  City, Philippines

Leave a Reply

