Wai Ying Fast Food – Binondo, Manila

I guess if you’re going on a food trip, Wai Ying is a go-to place in Binondo.

When you’re in Benavidez Street, you’d think that the store facade is enough to throw you off.  But there’s more to this place.  It’s Chinese cuisine heaven inside.

My heart did a little dance when I saw this signage
My heart did a little happy dance when I saw this signage
From the outside, they let you see the roasting of the pecking ducks
From the outside, they let you see the roasting of the pecking ducks
These shark fins are so sumptuous
These shark fins are so sumptuous
I am not a fan but my friend had a grand time eating this so I guess, it's good
I am not a fan but my friend had a grand time eating this so I guess, it’s good
Shrimp chong fan (flat noodles) is my new favorite dimsum! And the sauce just keeps the taste buds yearning for more!
Shrimp chong fan (flat noodles) is my new favorite dimsum! And the sauce just keeps the taste buds yearning for more!
Chinese dinuguan with spring onions for the adventurous ones
Chinese dinuguan with spring onions for the adventurous ones
I couldn't put a finger on it.  There's something about it that I like and there's something that greatly appalls me.  I only got through with one slice because I paired it with the sauce from the Shrimp Chong Fan, not the sauce that it came with.
I couldn’t put a finger on it. There’s something about it that I like and there’s something that greatly appalls me. I only got through with one slice because I paired it with the sauce from the Shrimp Chong Fan, not the sauce that it came with.
The place was packed. We were fourth in line but quickly moved to second.  That was lunch time on a Sunday.  We were lucky.
The place was packed. We were fourth in line but quickly moved to second.  The second floor was also packed. That was lunch time on a Sunday. We were lucky.

 

Location:  Benavidez Street, Binondo, Manila, Philippines (They also have branches in 168 Mall in Binondo, in Malate and in Taft Avenue)

Contact:  02 2436665 | 02 2420310

Date Visited:  January 4, 2015

3 thoughts on “Wai Ying Fast Food – Binondo, Manila

  1. I super miss Wai Ying and was lucky to discover it before it became massively popular and less crowded [shows my age a bit lol]. One of my faves there is ‘hakaw’, and their ‘authentic’ siomais and the lovely radish cake. Looking at your photos made me mouthwatery already.

Leave a Reply

