Fusion, Confusion: P. F. Chang’s – Mandaluyong City

I’m all into fusion, out-of-the-box ideas.  I think the world is so dynamic right now, one item does not fit into a single silo anymore; it’s possible it was created to be part of many silos.

Such existential ideas sprung out of me after I ate at P.F. Chang’s in Shangri-La Mall.

I just wanted dimsum.

And noodles.

Simple things in life, you know.

But we decided to try out P.F. Chang’s and lo! I got all confused.

The oriental food was great. They taste well.  Some of them are served in creative ways like those Dynamite Shrimp/Chicken (served in martini glass).  So it’s pretty satisfying both aesthetically and gastronomically.

Dimsum platter (yum):  overly steamed veg dumpling, shrimp dumpling, xiao long bao, hacao and chicken dumplings
Dimsum platter (yum): overly steamed veg dumpling, shrimp dumpling, xiao long bao, hacao and chicken dumplings
The noodle soup and the vegetables came separately but, they taste just fine when tossed together!
The chicken noodle soup (with shiitake mushrooms) and the vegetables came separately but, they taste just fine when tossed together!

The bistro-like interior was tasteful, modern and comfortable.

The attendants were courteous and patient when I ask things out (coz I’m the annoying customer who asked a lot of question because I don’t want to find things out myself from Google).

But gosh, the music threw me off.  They were playing 70’s disco while we were eating.  My friend joked that any time soon, John Travolta circa 70’s will come out.  Then by the time we left, it was playing that 90’s pop song Angelina (check out this link to reminisce this famous 90’s radio’s staple song, then tell me how you would feel about eating to this song).

P. F. Chang's really got me confused: the food was Chinese, the interior was bistro and the music was 70's disco! Whatever happened to cohesiveness?
P.F. Chang’s really got me confused: the food was Chinese, the interior was bistro and the music was 70’s disco! Whatever happened to cohesiveness?

And no, I didn’t had my photo taken with the terracota horse because (1) I was too hungry to take photos when we got there and (2) we were so confused we were laughing so hard while walking out.

 

Location:  2nd/3rd Level, East Wing, Shangri-La Mall, Mandaluyong City, Philippines

Contact:  Website and Facebook

Date Visited:  August 1, 2014

 

 

Leave a Reply

